Intellectuals don’t know much about life

via: MICHAEL SAVAGE NEWSLETTER

huxleyBack on January 16th Dr. Savage recalled his love of writers such as Aldous Huxley and Jack Kerouac but observed that he’s learned more from blue collar workers.

He mentioned Huxley’s novel “After Many a Summer Dies the Swan,” a satire on man’s desire to live indefinitely.

“I remember reading it as a kid, along the line of reading “Chrome Yellow,” he said. “I read everything Huxley wrote. But I didn’t learn very much.”

Here’s the problem with intellectuals: They’re wonderful to read, they’re wonderful to watch on the screen, but they don’t know much about life.

They can’t teach you anything.

I learned more from a plummer than I did from Aldous Huxley. I’ll be honest with you.

I learned more from a welder than I did from Bertrand Russell.

I learned more from a carpenter that I knew, certainly, than from Jack Kerouac, who I learned nothing from.

I enjoyed reading him. I mean, I’d read these books, and I’d think I was gleaning some magical knowledge about the universe and how to lead my life.

No, they didn’t know very much.

I read everything Hemingway wrote.

The poor guy shot his brains out with a shotgun. I, thank God, didn’t take too much of his advice to heart.

He had deep emotional problems and, of course, there was a genetic tendency toward depression and suicide, which is no laughing matter. That’s a really tough one to overcome.

And then the final straw was when Hemingway went to the Mayo Clinic, and they gave him shock therapy and he came out of there and tried to walk into a propeller of a waiting plane, because he couldn’t think anymore, and, therefore, he didn’t want to live anymore.

I mean, there are a lot of reasons that he put a shotgun to his mouth. But I didn’t learn anything from Hemingway that I really took forward with me in life.

Everything I have learned in my life, I learned from the school of hard knocks.

Catch up on previous issues of The Michael Savage Newsletter

Read the latest at MichaelSavage.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Michael Savage

Leave a Reply

